A Resolution For Riesling

Last night’s WSET Diploma class was on German wines.  I enjoyed the Rieslings so very much.  How is it that I forget to enjoy these wines more often?

I have fond memories of German Riesling.  Grilled prawns in a lime zest and black pepper marinade and a bottle of St. Urban-hof – this is one of my favourite refreshing summer appetizers.  Having a glass of 2002 Von Othegraven Spätlese suggested for me at Bonetas restaurant in Vancouver, the sublimely rich Riesling has left a mark on my memory.  Or purchasing my first Auslese and planning a dinner party so I could share it.  Every memory is good, but I feel like there just aren’t enough memories.

Germany produces perfect Riesling.  The wines are unlike any other.  Delicate, bright aromas of citrus and green apples.  Flinty, mineral flavours.  Laser sharp acidity in harmony with residual sugar.  Low alcohol (so selfishly enjoying more than a glass is ok).  What’s not to love about German Riesling?  What goes on in the glass makes me ponder.  I try to imagine the viticultural challenges, selecting and harvesting the grapes when they are just right, fermenting the juice in old traditional ways.  And I like to imagine how long the wines can cellar for… ten, twenty, fifty years. The wine is almost timeless.

So why is it that I don’t drink as much German Riesling as I think I should?   It’s probably because there’s lots of local Rieslings that I love to drink.  And because quality German Riesling comes with a premium price.  Also, I don’t know very many German wine producers well.  Most importantly, having good company to appreciate the wine is essential.  No matter how many excuses I come up,  I am guilty of overlooking one of the great white wines of the world.  There for, I am making it my Riesling resolution for 2011 to enjoy more bottles from Germany.  Prost!

My favourite Rieslings from last night’s class were:
1. 2007 Dönnhoff Kabinett, Oberhäuser Leistenberg, Nahe
2. 2008 Allendorf Kabinett, Winkeler Hasensprung, Rheingau
3. 2006 Dr. H. Thanisch Beerenauslese, Wehlener Sonnenuhr, Mosel

About allisonvidug

Allison has been professionally passionate about wine and food for eight years. In that short time, Allison has traveled across Canada to work at some of the finest establishments focussed on premium wine, food and service. Her travels and education has allowed Allison the pleasure to live in some of Canada’s most beautiful locations such as the Okanagan Valley, Niagara Peninsula, the Southern Gulf Islands, Toronto, Lake Louise and Muskoka. Some of Allison's favourite things include; wine, gin, whisky, cheese, mushrooms, cooking, hosting, growing vegetables, cottaging and dogs. Allison has seriously invested in her education of food and drink. She is a graduate of the Food and Beverage Management Diploma Program at George Brown College. She also holds a Diploma in Viticulture and Winery Management from Niagara College. Allison has fine tuned her wine and spirit sensory skills by completing certificates with the International Sommelier Guild and the Wine and Spirits Education Trust. Allison is currently completing here WSET Diploma, one of the highest levels of wine education.
This entry was posted in Germany, Riesling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Resolution For Riesling

  1. Jonathan W. says:

    Great post Allison! If only the rest of the wine world thought like us sommeliers, huh? Riesling is the be all and end all in my books, I just wish everyone else would embrace it too! I was drooling when I read your tasting note tweet about the Beernauslese…

  2. Hamishwm says:

    Totally agree about Riesling. Also concur that although I/you love it we don’t actually drink it as often as we should!! Lovely to see the Donnhoff wines in Canada. I have fond memories of visits to the Nahe valley and the amazing viticultural area.

    • allisonvidug says:

      Thank you for your comment and shared love of German Riesling! It is great to have Donnoff wines in Canada. Though they are still very hard to find in Ontario. They are only available online from the Vintages Exclusive. I have found his wines more easily available in Vancouver, BC at fine wine merchants like Marquis Wine Cellars.

Leave a comment